Karl's Workbench

Rate this topic

krose

Hi all,

I have been dipping in and out of this site for a couple of years now so its time I made a start on a few projects. I'm hoping this workbench will help keep me going.

I got a Silverfox MK3 Driving Trailer kit for Christmas and I have to complete it or it will be the last time I get something like that again and back to the socks & jocks for presents.

Had an airbrush tutorial from Glenderg a couple of months back. Thanks for your time Richie it was an immense help and hope I can produce some realistic looking models & scenes on the back of it.

I also have an MIR 121 resin kit and a couple of BR MK3 coaches so the plan is to do them all together.

The detail on the 121 is very light or gone altogether, anyone any tips on what to use to mark out the detail again?

Also the BR MK3 coaches are a bit rough and have a few scratches and gouges on the body of the coach. Any tips on a filler to use to repair these marks?

I’m sure I’ll have a lot more questions as I progress

Thanks for the help

Karl

• 1 year later...
  • 4 weeks later...

The purists on here are going to hate this post but I started a small project recently for my 3 year old son who wants a train for Christmas.

I wanted something that resembled what he would see on rails here but it would have to be tough & strong so a Murphy Model 071 is out of the question.

I found a 3 car Tomy set that would do as a doner for an ICR, as long as you ignore some of the details especially the roof detail :)

IMG_2790[1].jpg

IMG_2792[1].jpg

Next I masked off the glazing and got it ready for priming with Halfords grey.

IMG_2794[1].jpg

IMG_2805[1].jpg

IMG_2808[1].jpg

Hope to start the silver tonight and then the green & yellow before Sunday.

I got Des in Studio Scale to produce transfers for it which will set it off.