Class D Shunter

Rate this topic

Alan564017

Hi, thought I'd post theseIMG_0032.jpg

I have a class 08 hornby shunter, someone posted shots of what SF done with them a while back and I decided to have a go myself. Its far from perfect so if you find it offensive look away!! I've never done anything remotely like this before (it shows), but im happy with the result. The orange on the CIE roundal disappeared , might have something to do with the paint.

IMG_0033.jpg

I always thought an "08" made a very good representation. I take it you'd also be painting the connecting rod and adding white flashes on ends?

Even the orange paint on the roundel disappearing looks like weathering!

Looks well indeed. Shows what can be done quite readily with proprietary models.

Well done Allen, you have done a very good job on that, & as jhb said the absence of the CIE rounded looks like weathering, even so I wouldn't worry about that as if you want to put the CIE roundel on it's not that hard I'm sure, I have an 08 DCC fitted from the Hornby mixed freight set & I'm hoping to do the same some day, when I get into my shed, btw what paint did you use, thanks

Edited by burnthebox

thanks for the comments guys. I'll try something with the connection rods, maybe black felt tip might work as I was afraid to prise them off. As for the paint, straight from the can!!, a Halfords plastic grey undercoat (x2), it went on a bit heavy and 'blobbled' in places, got me worried that it might fill in some of the detail. The final 2 black coats was from my teenage sons grafitti stock (product name acrylic gold I think), the spray was much finer than the Halfords and it went on very evenly. What I forgot to photograph was the back end, the grey undercoat did a great job of hiding the wasp strips (remember the SF photos?).