Proposed oo layout

Rate this topic

westport

Hi All,

Please see attached proposed layout for OO scale. Available space is approx 11 x 5, plus a couple of inches. Any thoughts\comments\suggestions welcome. I am new to the railway modelling scene, and I am not striving to be 100% prototypically accurate, or aiming to model any one particular era, but would still like to build a layout that makes reasonable sense and provide various running opportunities.

Looking forward to any comments.

Cheers from Westport

scan0001.jpg

While you have got a lot of track into a given space , the layout has no equivalent or near equivalent prototype comparison , it's essentially a four track mainline with an unusual small mpd/goods.

Some keys things. Lack of head shunt , perhaps you could indicate which lines are what running directions, ie up and down ( are you implementing left up running )

The ladder and crossover array , is rather " extensive " , as it designed to in essence facilitate bi-directional running which would be extremely unusual.

Personally I can't see the point of the reverse loop. It not really consistent with turning locos for the station

I would rationalise the ladder , and place a crossover on the " north " side of the station , if the track geometry allows it.

By the way , the radius of the inner double track is 18-" or less, that a tight tight curve.

Again,it's your railway , I merely present my observations

Also what about storage for rolling stock. A fiddle yard or storage sidings would come in handy. Would a station work on such a tight radius?, it would be hard to get large logos around without derailing. As junctionmad said by directional running is unusual and not prototypical, also the amount of point work to get to such a small MPD seems a bit of a waste. What if you put the station where the viaduct a girder bridge is and them at the start of the curve, this would allow a central platform which could facilitate longer trains.