SSM Ammonia Wagon - Assembly Guide

Rate this topic

Glenderg

I'm told there are boxes of these lying on shelves the length and breadth of workbenches, so no better time to do this. I built one of six a few months ago, all glued, and promptly lost the instructions, so to build the remaining 5 I did it based on experience. I've done a few things assways as I went along, but I think this is the most straightforward method.

Also, I'm a brass novice, but I found that none of the scary items like resistance soldering gear and complex jigs are required for the job. A standard issue soldering iron, plumbers flux, and a roll of solder do perfectly fine, and I'd encourage anyone eager to try brass kits to give it a go on this one, as many of the joints and welds will be hidden under the tank. Only you'll know they are there :)

Superglue can be used on this kit also, same process as below. And for folding things, always fold into the etch side. :tumbsup:

DSCF9999.jpg

First things first, a clean bench, some choons on, and a drop of Modeller's Elbow.

DSCF9990.jpg

Oh and the main etch for the kit of course. Like airfix kits that get you to make up the awkward stuff first, and then do the easy bits, that's how this should be approached. Remove the buffer beam pieces (2) and fold up the top flange only. The lower etch is decorative only.

DSCF9997.jpg

Next remove the components for the battery box housing. The outer doors have to be folded 45 degrees like so .

DSCF9994.jpg

There are 2 webbed pieces that fit into that outer door, and the main box folds up like so. The enclosure is the same size as the completed door cover, so a bit of tweaking is required to get the door cover to fit over and align with the holes. (There are 6 different versions of this box on the wagons I'm doing, a wee bit confusing!)

DSCF0013.jpg

Remove the release wheel supports. Note that they are handed right and left to match on either side of the wagon, and bend up the top piece.

DSCF0018.jpg