Basic question: why do my locos sometimes stop running?

Rate this question

Modelrailwayman00

Question

New track, new locos. Hornby controller (basic).

Sometimes, I run my loco with or without coaches for 10 minutes or so, then go do something around the house. I come back, turn the dial and nothing happens. I unplug, re-plug, pull the cable from the controller, put it back in and nothing changes. Then I randomly unplug and off the loco goes as of nothing happened. This has happened to me with the Hornby Santa's express and a Virgin train...

Any ideas? Is this a common problem with these controllers or could it be something else. These are brand new locos...

You can tell I'm new to this can't you? :)

12 answers to this question

New track, new locos. Hornby controller (basic).

Sometimes, I run my loco with or without coaches for 10 minutes or so, then go do something around the house. I come back, turn the dial and nothing happens. I unplug, re-plug, pull the cable from the controller, put it back in and nothing changes. Then I randomly unplug and off the loco goes as of nothing happened. This has happened to me with the Hornby Santa's express and a Virgin train...

Any ideas? Is this a common problem with these controllers or could it be something else. These are brand new locos...

You can tell I'm new to this can't you? :)

When you leave are the locos running, then when you return are they stopped? Have you stayed with it to see where it stops?

What controller and track are you using?

We've had a similar question just lately - http://irishrailwaymodeller.com/showthread.php/5938-MM201-Erratic-running?highlight=gaugemaster

The Hornby 'train set' controller is not the best device around.

Thanks. Interesting thread! I admit to being quite surprised when I first picked up the Hornby train set controller. Very light.

When you leave are the locos running, then when you return are they stopped? Have you stayed with it to see where it stops?