Greetings from Ballymena

Rate this topic

PaulC

Hello from Ballymena. Just a short introduction to anyone who is remotely interested. :)My name is Paul, almost 42 and from Ballymena. I've been beavering away for the last three years creating a OO layout in my loft called Galgorm Hall documenting its progress on the New Railway Modeller forum. At Christmas I had an epiphany - it was rubbish! The track plan didn't work, the track had been poorly laid and I wasn't enjoying being a part of it anymore. Up it came and a blank canvass was created.

Galgorm Hall Mk2 is now being based on the Ballymena station circa 1960's. I've been using OS maps to create a representation of the tracks as they looked then and aim to build the signal box, old Berkeley Dean Wise designed station building and perhaps the old engine shed.

I'm also trying to get a model railway club off the ground in the town. It's proving a slow burner but between four of us we have just completed basedboard construction for a 12'x8' modular OO layout.

As part of my ongoing reasearch for my own layout I stumbled upon Irish Railway Modeller and thought I should really join a community on my doorstep. I'm looking forward to having a good browse round the forum to see what others are up to and hopefully learn a thing or two about Irish rail transport - I know diddly squat!

If anyone else is from my neck of the woods I'd be delighted to hear from you. If you aren't, I'm still delighted. :tumbsup:

Time to go forum browsing.

Paul

Welcome to this Forum. Hopefully you will find it to be inspirational. If you are aware of the RM Web site well and good. If not I suggest you visit it and head for the Irish section. Have a look at Mr. Colm Flanagan's model of Coltrane. Also Cookstown Junction which in both real and Model Terms are no longer with us.

Happy modelling,