Voltage too high?

Rate this question

controller

Question

Hi,  I have a Gaugemaster Proidgy Advance controller. It is giving out almost 18 Volts (17.8) . I was installing lights into a Hornby BR 0-6-0 shunter with a Gaugemaster 4 function 8 pin decoder. When I applied power it toasted the decoder. Is there any way I can reduce the power output, as I am afraid it may damage other locos? The power output on the transformer is 13.8v. 

Thanks,

Controller.

4 answers to this question

1 hour ago, controller said:

Hi,  I have a Gaugemaster Proidgy Advance controller. It is giving out almost 18 Volts (17.8) . I was installing lights into a Hornby BR 0-6-0 shunter with a Gaugemaster 4 function 8 pin decoder. When I applied power it toasted the decoder. Is there any way I can reduce the power output, as I am afraid it may damage other locos? The power output on the transformer is 13.8v. 

Thanks,

Controller.

Did the loco run ok with the decoder before you added the lights?

Are you using a DCC ramp meter to measure the track voltage? An ordinary Ammeter/Multimeter won't read track voltage properly even if you set it to AC because of the DCC wave form.  Most DCC systems will output 15-18volts to the track. US systems tend to be closer to 15v whereas European gear such as Lenz, ESU, etc are closer to 18v.  DCC decoders will convert this to max 12v going to a loco motor.  I suspect the wiring for the lights may have been your problem rather than the Prodigy.  Some systems such as NCE have an adjustable pot inside the controller for fine tuning track voltage, but this is only for small changes and not enough to blow a decoder. Hope this helps.