Studio scale models worth it??

Rate this topic

sayhall27

Hi all I'm quite new to modelling Irish stock.been looking at all available sources for locos for my layout. Is it worth it to buy the models from here.

Also advice welcome for being able to create a range of stock for a GN mainline layout in the UTA/NIR changeover period and years previous.

TIA Sam 

Hi Sam,

Welcome to the forum!

Studio Scale Models produce some really good stuff, but most of their kits are etched brass and the larger locos especially require a bit of skill with soldering, etc. You could always start out with one of their brake van kits and see how you get on.

The proprietor, Des, is a regular poster here and I'm sure he will be happy to answer any queries you may have... 

Thanks Garfield.

I am looking at every option for making a later period GN fleet, S class V class and goods variants mainly. Even had a suggestion of a southern railways C class conversion. It'll be a long process to build up but I'll never be bored of it

• Like 1

Sayhall27,

It may be worth your time contacting "OO" Works. They produced a GNR(I) UG as UTA No 49. Members on this forum are doing their best to persuade this manufacturer to instigate a second run of this model.  Were you to place an order - for one or more locomotives - you wold be increasing your chances of acquiring a genuine Irish Model.  I have committed to two locomotives should they decide to proceed with this second batch. They, OO Works,  are also  producing two versions of the GSWR  0-6-0 Class 101 - CIE J15 for delivery towards the end of 2018. 

For you, everything will depend on what you can afford to spend, and when you  can spend your money.

There are a number of alternatives - OO Works is just one of them. 

GNR -VS. A certain Mr Flanagan produced one for me from a SR Schools as well as No4 from a Fowler. Oh, he also built  UTA No 15 for me.