fitzguttentite

Question

Hi to all

first off , congrats on an excellent site { well done }

i have just retired and have now got the time to start a model rail layout

the boards are in place , the track is down ,

my problem now is im in two minds what to go at next

ballast ? should i ballast first , then paint the track

or paint the track and then ballast / sorry to sound so stupid about this but i just dont want to overshoot the runway and have to re do work again

a total newbie at this

i opted for a DCC layout { so all the track is live } with points , the layout is not modelled on anywhere just two loops with some sidings and switches

have 3 dcc baby g m,s and a few hornby models with some freight also

basically something for the winter evenings

im new at computers too so if my typing is off forgive me :banana:

have flicked through this site and i must say its excellent

my late father was with c i e during the late 40,s and 50.s so that explains my intrest in the hobby

many thanks

fritz

18 answers to this question

Hi Fritz and welcome to the site.

I usually paint the rails a rust colour and then lay my ballast. Then I airbrush the ballast with track dirt and dirty oil colours where locos might sit.

There's no particular way to paint your track its what ever way suites you. I prefer to pint my rails first as when the ballast is layed I wont get the rust colour on it.

Fritz welome, there are many ways to paint your track realistically and there is no one way better than another as it's a matter of what suits you and how much time you have available. Anthonys already given you some great advice and his track speaks for itself and is a great example of what can be achieved with that approach.

The Rusty Rails painter is a great tool for novice and professional alike. You can also get various shades of track color with the applicator to weather your rails a particualr color.

http://joesmodeltrains.com/Rusty%20Rails%20Painter.htm