Sign in to follow this  
Edo

The Blackstairs Railway

Rate this topic

I've been faffing around for the last 2 years about building a new layout for the first time in over 30 years and have finally decided to commit to doing it and put it up here - or else I wont do anything about it!

I've finally concluded negotiations with the Minister of the Interior to use my "Den"  to house the layout - It took 18 months and comes with several conditions mostly relating to tidiness -it cost me a brand new kitchen with all the bells and whistles , Utility room , patio and central heating system for the whole house and another decade on the mortgage.........She drives a hard bargain.....................but I got my railway room!!!!!:trains:

Anyway - very briefly its going to be a layout based around the Bagnalstown to Palace east Line  circa 1955 to 1980  and at this moment - in my head - it will compose of Bagnalstown Station, Palace East Station - probably Borris Halt and the viaduct (ambitious or what!) and possibly Ballyling Beet siding under the Blackstairs mountain - all on a layout that will go around the 4 walls of the room..........I'll throw up a rough plan when I get a moment .............this probably is all subject to change when I hit that speedbump called reality - but I can dream for the moment!!

Anyway - to celebrate and relieve a bit of cabin fever - I threw up a tailchaser made up of some Thomas the tank track on the kitchen table  and took out/ tried out my IRM Stock, my 00Works J15s and my MM071 ( seriously impressed with the 071.............talk about smooth - love it already!) for the very first time.............................it was great!

here is some dodgy video as evidence - unless you are interested in the RTE news, home & away, Corrie or Jamie Oliver - my advice would be to use the mute button!

• Like 4

What a cliffhanger Edo - I kept hoping that little J15 didn’t fall off!  Great news  / look forward to seeing more.

• Like 1