DCC Chip fpr CI.121 MM0006 - Problems

Rate this question

Keano30

Question

Hello all and apologies if this problem has been resolved else where, I'm new to the model railway scene. I have tried to find any topics which might relate to this, unsuccessfully.

I have just bought the Class 121 - 130 Murphy Models loco and I also bought the MM0006 DCC chip to install in it. 

I'm using Hornby's railmaster pro to programme the loco but this is where I'm falling down. Initially when i programmed the train it worked, albeit the lights did not come on. 

The Primary address of the Loco is 003 but I wanted to change that to 130 so I could easily recognise it on the list of locos. This is where the issues arose. Once I rename the Loco ID to 130 it stopped working. 

Is there a way to reset the chip back to its factory settings? Has anyone else had this issue and how did you get over the issue? 

Any help would be much appreciated.

533612540_130onprogrammetrack.thumb.jpg.9f5a7abf673910134c5ce9c206766044.jpg1213129769_130-CVsprogrammed.thumb.jpg.9e689b7c5b0596de5fdae57641091e30.jpg

8 answers to this question

As per NMRA standards for DCC an address of 130 is a LONG address, so when programming the loco address be sure to specify that 130 is a 'long' address, otherwise you won't be able to control the loco. Most DCC system programming menus ask if a new address is short or long. If your DCC system programming menus don't handle this there is a convoluted manual way of doing this by manually assigning values to NMRA specified CV values, but that sort of manual set up went out with the arc. Suggest check the manual section for 'rail master' dealing with assigning loco addresses, or setting up a new loco. In the mean time if stuck simply reset the decoder to factor default by writing 8 to CV8 (ie CV8=8). This will reset your decoder and it will have the default address of 3 again (ie until you figure out how to specify 130 as a long loop address in programming mode)