Brass Kits

Rate this question

dave182

Question

Hi guys!

I'm going stir-crazy at the moment as new house equals no modelling and no money! :(( Anyways, I'll keep dreaming about the layout I'll have one day soon... In the mean time I've been slowly building up stock and doing some scratch building, and I love working with plasticard, but even thats been wrapped up for the moment in all the chaos of a move, all boxed away and all over the place!

So last weekend I finally got to carve out a little bit of space in the shed, so I at least have a little bit of workbench space, with some lighting and a heater installed. So I'm looking to get stuck in to a project, and one thing I would like to have on my layout is a small heritage line, with a little yard, really to show off models that wouldn't ordinarily belong in the era I want to model. So I'm thinking about trying a brass kit, which I've never tried before, and have absolutely no experience of working with. So what's involved? What kind of tools am I going to need?

I was thinking about a Worsley Works Park Royal or Laminate Coach, mostly because I know how they look, and there are plenty of reference pics available. Am I being ambitious as a first build?

All input greatly appreciated!

4 answers to this question

It would probably be easier to start with a complete kit than using Worsley Works parts to build a coach. The brass assembly is simple enough, forming the roof can be quite challenging and sourcing all the necessary bits and pieces time consuming and expensive.

I did a how to for New Irish Lines and Alan Doherty on the Park Royals & Laminates http://www.worsleyworks.co.uk/NG/NG_NIL_Art1.htm

The SSM 30T goods brake, Bredin coaches or one of my tin vans would probably be an easier and more economic starting point.

Thanks Popeye and John! Yeah, I actually forgot about the SSM van, that looks like a good place to start! I'll pm you over the weekend John for one of your vans too.