Plywood Plywood and more Plywood

Rate this question

GNRi1959

Question

Over a period of several months i’ve used various types of plywood in my garden shed layout. As a carpenter I tend to go for quality over cost and was surprised by the behaviour of the various options. 

9mm birch ply that I used cupped across the width of a 350mm board whilst 9mm Malaysian was quite coarse on the surface when primed.

I normally avoid DIY stores (Homebase) but their 9mm ply, described as ‘hardwood’, was very flat and took two coats of Rustins grey primer on the edges and surfaces leaving a really smooth finish. On close inspection the hardwood is on the finished veneers only.

I’m sure many layouts are built on what’s cheapest and easily obtained but it would be interesting to hear if primed plywood can withstand many happy years in an insulated shed before I starts to show its age.

Edited by GNRi1959

5 answers to this question

It is the nature of plywood that it will warp of it's own accord if not well supported/fixed

For some years I have been using ply on flat roofs where it is expected to survive at least 30 years.

We always regarded 416mm as the maximum safe span for 18mm ply.

So I am not surprised at the 9mm cupping. 

The " hardwood" ply sold here in Ireland is visually very pleasing but now has a bad reputation in the roofing trade because it tends to delaminate .

The birch is usually very good quality ( especially the scandinavian ones ) but it still needs to be well supported/fixed

1 hour ago, GNRi1959 said:

9mm ply with 2 coats of primer 450mm wide screwed to a 60x20mm framework should be fine.

I have used 9mm birch 1800mm x 600mm wide with 12mm x 120mm frame to allow for  tortoise motors with no problems

I can claim that I have used ply for baseboards in three different countries on two continents!