DCC Controller Recommendations - Newcomer

Rate this topic

Keano30

Hello all. I'm relative new to the whole Railway modelling community. I have some experience using's Hornby's DCC Railmaster software to control my trains but I'm finding it frustratingly annoying as it will not work with my Class A model which I recently bough. To this end I'm thinking there must be a system out there which is simpler which I could use.

I'm pretty proficient with computer so I'd like to have something I can use on my laptop to control the DCC system. So far I've been looking at various options including the Bachmanns Dynamis System (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YgH37S-lxM&t=230s) or using iTrain (https://www.berros.eu/en/itrain/) software. 

The iTrain software would need a lot of other equipment to connect the track to I presume whereas the Bachmanns does not. Am I correct in this thinking? 

I'd like to get your thoughts on which systems would be best and of course affordable for a relative new comer to the the whole thing. I'm open to suggestions on other systems besides those mentioned above.

I'd love to try before I buy also so if you know of anyone or company which would let me do that I'd appreciate their contact details. 

All recommendations welcome and thanks in advance for your help.

Diarmuid in Kilkenny.

Another vote for NCE Powercab. Easy to use, easy to programme locos, fabulous handheld cab ergonomics especially for eyes off use and sound locos with lots of functions. Setup the option button as shift and you have quick access to 26 functions. Throttle control via buttons for rotary knob, best of both worlds. Their more expensive Pro Cab system is basically the same, but is a 5amp system designed for larger layouts. IMHO Powercab would suit most Irish layouts and could be expanded anyway in the future if more power was needed (ie via booster), if there were to be a lot of locos running simultaneously on a layout.