Power Clips Question concerning building of new layout

Rate this topic

Blu Bianco

Sorry for the ignorance, lol, I'm new to DCC but I thought it better to ask now rather than taking the risk and getting it wrong!

I am in the process of designing my first layout. Hopefully I will start building it late January/early February. It will most likely be a 10' x 4' layout.

Firstly, I've got more than enough 'DCC Electro Point Clips' R8232 for every point I will have on my layout.

However, as for the power clips, I have the DCC power clip that comes as standard with any Hornby Digital Train set, then I also have a second 'Digital Power Connecting Clip' R8242.

Would you think those two power clips, along with a point clip for every point, be enough to sustain power around my layout? Or would you advise more power clips (R8242) to be installed?

I would suggest not using any power clips and running 2 bus wires around the layout and connecting these to the track via dropper wires. Always solder your wires to the track as this will give you the best contact never use clips as they can become unreliable and give you bad contact. Take a look at Boskonay's layout build as he has good photos and explains how to wire up the layout.

I would suggest not using any power clips and running 2 bus wires around the layout and connecting these to the track via dropper wires. Always solder your wires to the track as this will give you the best contact never use clips as they can become unreliable and give you bad contact. Take a look at Boskonay's layout build as he has good photos and explains how to wire up the layout.

I have to agree, DCC needs good connections to work properly. Soldering each joint is the only way to go.