Modellers Bible??

Rate this question

rebelred

Question

Can anyone recommend the best book that shows you all the tricks & tips on how to make a layout, like landscaping, scenery, track bedding etc... im also looking for one on how to do weathering aswell, I should state that im a complete novice so nothing too complicated please!! :tumbsup:

11 answers to this question

In a way I'd agree Nelson. While it is nice to have a book on a shelf that one can take down and flick through without having to turn on the computer, there is now so much information about all aspects of this hobby available online that books are, I'm afraid, becoming superfluous. As Nelson says, forums such as this one provide a wealth of information and encouragement to budding modellers. Also, sites such as 'Everard Junction' with their tutorials actually show projects such as scenery construction, weathering etc being done and they explain the various pitfalls better than any book could.

You Tube is a great source of information, I also have a few books and I keep magazines as their are great tutorials in them. The best way to learn is to get stuck in, start with a small diorama and develop from there. You will quickly learn what works and what doesn't.

You Tube is a great source of information, I also have a few books and I keep magazines as their are great tutorials in them. The best way to learn is to get stuck in, start with a small diorama and develop from there. You will quickly learn what works and what doesn't.