Ballast

Rate this question

BosKonay

Question

Having a little bit of track to ballast, I've been experimenting with a few options, and would be grateful for the insight of fellow members!

Initially, I did a siding with Gaugemaster http://www.gaugemaster.com/item_details.asp?code=GM114&style=&strType=&Mcode=Gaugemaster%20GM114

It went down well, looks like irish ballast (being multi coloured natural granite) and took the glue from the dropper without movement, bubbling, etc.

Next, I tried Woodlands Scenic's Grey Blend.

This went down ok, but didn't cover as well as the Gaugemaster, and trying to dropper glue resulted in bubbles and the gluw rolling off the ballast. I next tried to spray the ballast with 'wet' water, which resulted in clumping and the whole thing looking like muck a little :( I droppered the glue in anyway, and will photo both sidings once everything is dry in 24 hours.

Just wondering what other's ballast experience has been - from my tests, I think I'll be going with the gaugemaster for the rest...

19 answers to this question

Stephen when you are ballasting forget about washing up liquid you need to get yourself some isopropanol alcohol. You dilute it half in half with water and spray it on your ballast.

Then add your diluted PVA glue to the ballast. Sit back and watch you will be amazed at how the ballast sucks up the glue no more clumping or bubbles. Its how I do my ballasting and I get great results. Here's a link

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ISOPROPANOL-IPA-Isopropyl-Alcohol-99-9-Pure-1-Litre-/390283951465?pt=UK_Computing_Thermal_Compounds_Supplies&hash=item5adebc7d69#ht_2832wt_1037