Layout Idea: GNR(I) Bundoran-Sligo line

Rate this topic

I'm still quite new to Irish modelling, but I've already started thinking about what sort of layout I'd want to build, given the opportunity of course.

I was trying to find a possible location that would allow me to model the GNR(I) and MGWR in one place, and allow for diverse traffic; now I think I've found something that might work well.

The Enniskillen and Bundoran Railway hoped to reach Sligo via a coastal route, but they would lose out to the Sligo, Leitrim and Northern Counties Railway. I think I'd like to model this unbuilt line in GNR(I) days. Does anyone know what engine classes would have been used on this line, had it been built?

If anyone has suggestions for books or information on this proposed line, I'd be very grateful.

Edited by RaglanRoad
  • Like 2

Almost certainly the lower rungs of the GN motive power ladder. P/PP class for passenger (possibly even J). AL, PG class for goods. Possibly C class railcars too, and a JT class for local trains. Or you could just use what actually ran to Bundoran, such as the odd U class. Try Sprinks 1970 SLNC book for background. 

Edited by Galteemore
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

Funnily enough, my first ever Irish layout was based on what this line might have looked like had it survived into the 70s. I modelled ‘Grange’ in a box file, here with a 141 indeed. Poor quality image but all I’ve got ! 

5C9B40B1-D455-44DE-AAB5-63E9D4CDEFBC.jpeg

Edited by Galteemore
  • Like 3

"The Enniskillen and Bundoran Railway hoped to reach Sligo via a coastal route, but they would lose out to the Sligo, Leitrim and Northern Counties Railway. I think I'd like to model this unbuilt line in GNR(I) days. Does anyone know what engine classes would have been used on this line, had it been built?

If anyone has suggestions for books or information on this proposed line, I'd be very grateful."

RaglanRoad,