New layout plan

Rate this topic

DARTtoDingle

After resurrecting my 25 year old Hornby set for the running around the christmas tree, I've decided to make a more permanent layout. I've decided the space available is too small for OO so I've switched to N gauge.

I've attached a layout plan constructed with Railmodeller Pro. Any ideas and/or comments welcome!

My baseboard is 170x110cm, a size restriction necessitated by the need to fit under the bed (and into the car when I bought it).

The general idea is British Rail, circa early 60s so steam and diesel present. My talents and patience do not extend to modifying items to look Irish so until there are RTR Irish trains on the market, BR it is. I like the German stuff too, but the BR stuff is easier to obtain in Ireland.

I intend to use DCC.

This is my first effort and I have no experience in carpentry, electronics or general craftwork, so we shall see how it goes. All comments and advice welcome!

In case it's not obvious the diagonal track from top left to bottom right will be elevated above the 2 other tracks crossing beneath.

Layout 2.jpg

my only comment , is that in order to implement the elevations you require, in a quite small space as you set out, it will require very steep gradients, which may be beyond model steam locomotives in particular , 1:100 is optimum , 1:75 is acceptable and 1:50 is borderline

note that there is now quite a bit of irish outline RTR available,

dave

Thanks for the advice. I did a test with the 2 locos I have (the steam is a Coronation class, the diesel a class 42) , jacked up my test layout to 1:22 and they both easily hauled 6 coaches up the hill. I calculate the gradient in my layout to be 1:23 at the steepest, so hopefully it'll be ok.

I didn't realise you can get Irish RTR stuff, where is it for sale?