A Class EMD Sound Decoder

Rate this question

Fowler4f

Question

Has anyone fitted A Class EMD Sound Decoder to either MM 141 or 181 class ? The reason I ask, I purchased 3 EMD Decoders for A15, A42 & A55. Now that the Crossley Sound Decoder may be in production later this year hopefully 🙏 I thought about fitting them to 141/181’s that may come my way this year. Is it possible to solder speaker wires to EMD Sound Decoder ?

16 answers to this question

3 hours ago, Noel said:

@BosKonay Hi Stephen. Just wondering when the IRM A class Crossley engined sound decoders might become available to purchase. I've some lovely green, silver, and black livery A classes in need of a run on the layout. I'm not good at making silent layout movies :) The existing EMD ones sound great on the later livery CIE/IR A class locos. Thanks in advance. Noel

I'm sure if there's something to report, we will all be made aware of it. 

• Agree 1

6 hours ago, Fowler4f said:

I thought about fitting them to 141/181’s that may come my way this year. Is it possible to solder speaker wires to EMD Sound Decoder ?

Should you get a 141/181 in the future , I would suggest that you solder/hard wire the speaker cables to the PCB as shown in Flange Lubricator  link  / photo below.

Yes , you can solder speaker cables to your sound decoder.

I would not recommend to solder cables for speakers on the sound decoder as you will have to unsolder them in the future to fit the sound decoder in the A Class and also the sound decoder may get damaged aswell from the soldering which may also invalidate the warranty too.

It should be interesting to a 141/181 as it is 12 cylinder instead of the 8 cylinder sound . 

I must try this on the next club night 

3B125F93-D39B-452B-9CC3-8393E2BA9382.png

Edited by Joe Keegan
Spellcheck
  • Like 1
  • Informative 3

2 hours ago, Joe Keegan said: