New Shelf Layout Some Advice Please

Rate this topic

Hello to Everybody 

And Thank you for Having Me On The Site 

I am a Total Newbie to Model Rail , so i am reaching out for some advice please , First of all i am limited to space , what i have available to work with  is  74 Inches Long   and 28 inches Wide. And  What i would like to fit to the board , is some sort of switching yard ,something that will not be boring and will be enjoyable to use ,  My First question is    What sort of Board i should use  ?    My Second Question is Track , which to use  ?  i will try attach some photos i found on the Net  to show what i would like to have , if anybody has any ideas or plans i would be grateful, as i am totally new at this , sorry i forgot to mention , i want to base it Around C I E   in the  70,s to 80,s  

Thank you 

Stoby

3.jpg

1.jpg

• Like 3

Hello Stoby,

As regards track, you'll find that there are lots of opinions regarding the best way forward because accurately scaled track to suit the Irish standard gauge is not commercially available. Many modellers get around this by making their own track.

If as you say, you're new to the hobby, making your own track probably isn't what you want to do. Not just yet anyway. Rest assured, you're not alone there. Many of us find that notion pretty daunting so we compromise and use whatever is commercially available, even though it may not be absolutely scale-accurate. I'm guessing you're planning to model in 4mm/foot scale or OO to give it its more common title. The track most widely used in that scale is Peco Streamline Code 100 with a track gauge of 16.5mm. This allows most commercially available locomotives and rolling stock to run on it without modification. The range consists of various ready-made points together with long lengths of flexible track. 

Good luck with your modelling and keep asking the questions. As Metrovic says, this is a very supportive forum. Someone will have the answer.

Alan

• Like 3