Rate this question

westport

Question

Hi All,

I am new to the model railway scene, and I would be starting literally from scratch, i.e. I do not have a layout or even anything to run on it, but this is what I would like to end up with. I am handy with DIY, electrics etc. I have always had an interest in railways, but probably more on the "social history" aspect of them, the people, the routes, permanent way, old closed railways etc, as opposed to different makes of loco, rolling stock etc. With this in mind, where would be a good starting point to get building?

Regards

15 answers to this question

Hi,

Welcome to the world of railway modelling.

In the first instance I would recommend that you have a look at a few model railway magazines first for some inspiration, Railway Modeller, Hornby Magazine, Model Rail and British Railway Modelling (BRM) are all quite good. Also some track plan books may be of use ( I have some if you are interested).

Also you have come to the right place here, as there are a lot of modellers who can help and advice you.

Depending on what your budget is a train set may not be the way to go. A number of my customers bought starter Hornby train sets and ended up ditching them as they didn't fit in with what they wanted as there layout grew. They can be a false economy.

Measure up the space you have and start planning from there. Think about what you want to model in, Irish, English, American or continental. Also what era, steam, diesel etc.

There are some amazing layouts on the forum to get some ideas.