Modelling the County Donegal

Rate this question

J-Mo Arts

Question

Hello everyone and my apologies if this is a well documented topic.

I was wondering what the easiest way to get into 00n3 modelling of the CDR is. I know that the Backwoods kits are slowly being re-introduced by N-Drive (I have my eye on the class 5) and I know that Worsley Works makes the 4, 5, 5a locos and lots of stock, however I'm reluctant to buy those locos as they need motors and wheels etc, which can quickly get too expensive for me. The Backwoods kits had all their wheels, motor etc already included in the kit which draws me to them. I must say that I've never built a brass kit before, but I've built plastic and white metal (I'd start with a wagon or a coach before trying a loco).

I'd be really grateful for any opinions/advice on this!

• Like 1

Although I've not direct experience of Backwood kits, from what I hear they are quite complex and not cheap either, but then there is a reason for this as Donegal steam locos were fairly complex things too.

Outside frames and cranks, outside cylinders, bogie and pony trucks - there are a lot of skills to learn and indeed tools to acquire for anyone wanting to build a model of these locos. That said, the big side tanks will help hiding the motor gearbox.

I have built a few Worsley Works items and the thing with them is they are designed as an aid to scratchbuilding. So, as you say, not only no wheels, motor or gears, but no castings or fittings either. What you get are a set of etched and that's it. There are no instructions to help you assemble the model.

Would say that trying a couple of wagons is certainly a good way to start. A good way of getting into loco building can be to use/adapt a commercial chassis and scratchbuild the body, which plasticard can be great for. However, not sure if there are any 12mm gauge, outside frames chassis available that might suit.