7mm Models

Rate this topic

buzzmodels

Hi,

I am new to modelling irish railways. To introduce myself my name is Andrew Evans I run a small business produceing uk modern wagons and for my day job i work for Virgin Trains. I have been asked my a staff memeber at work if i would produce a kit for a 071 and others in 7mm. I am wondering if there is many modellers of irish railways in 7mm.

Yours Thankfully

Andrew Evans

Buzz Models

I think there would be some interest in an 7mm 071 alright, if only to have as a display model. Do you have any photos of the wagons you have produced so far? Although they're not Irish stock, It would be interesting to see them.

Edited by aclass007

It might be worth enquiring in the Gauge O Guild or through New Irish Lines most 7mm modellers tend to be Guild members or attend the Gauge O Convention.

While most 7mm Irish kits produced to date tend to follow the steam era , (Northstar & Alphagraphix), a limited run of 7mm 071s was produced from a scratch built master in recent years.

• 3 months later...

I am building SLNCR in 7mm scale, 36.75mm gauge. I've used Marcway points [copperclad] and made my own plain track in the same way. Slaters do broad gauge loco axles for an additional fee, while wagon wheels can be moved out on the existing axles with little trouble.

The Alphagraphix catalogue [see Railway Modeller ad pages] contains a wealth of steam era card kits for wagons, coaches and buildings, including a fair bit of narrow gauge stuff too. I use them as drawings for scratchbuilding purposes. Their catalogue also contains the Tyrconnel range of etched brass locos and coaches. Fairly basic, but they go together well and look the part.