Layout in progress { no laughing please im a newbie }

Rate this topic

fitzguttentite

Hi to all

here are a few pics of the start

progress is slow

started off with cork underlay { did not like it } switched then to foam , another disaster

then when going through the garbage under the stairs i found large workout mat

belong to her who must be obeyed { which was never used } a lidl special at 6.99

turned out to be excellent { easy to cut nd shape } and nice and smooth

got some ballast mixes and started to try them out

so thats where im at so far

fitz

ps i will be posting an add in the for sale section { peco turntable } my layout is too small for it so i might as well sell it

somebody will get some use from it , i will post a pic of it on the for sale section

its new and boxed

thx

fitz

2012-09-08 12.40.56.jpg

2012-09-08 12.41.58.jpg

2012-09-08 12.43.15.jpg

2012-09-08 12.43.23.jpg

2012-09-08 12.41.09.jpg

2012-09-08 12.43.07.jpg

2012-09-08 12.40.56.jpg

2012-09-08 12.41.58.jpg

2012-09-08 12.43.15.jpg

2012-09-08 12.43.23.jpg

2012-09-08 12.41.09.jpg

2012-09-08 12.43.07.jpg

I'll echo what everyone else is saying Fritz, you are doing a great job for your first attempt, like anything you learn as you go along and you will improve very quickly at this rate. The foam is a great idea if you are housing the layout overhead or in a bungalow where sound deadening is important to keep noise to a minimum. Be careful not to apply it with PVA because when the PVA dries it dries hard and it will lose a lot of the sound deadening effect.

If you are housing the layout in a purpose built room out doors and your timber work is even and well built you shouldn't need foam or any other type of underlay if you use diluted Copydex as an adhesive for setting the track and ballast to the boards. I have seen this approach before and it works beautifully. I look forward to more progress.

Rich,

Hi rich

im up in the attic