Irish models and availability

Rate this topic

Jb1911

Hi all.

Over the past few months I’ve been researching the old Midland and Great Western railway and I have gathered a lot of information. I’ve decided to model a small mainline station on the railway and I’m wondering about the availability of models from the 1910-1925 odd time period. I’m relatively new to the modelling scene in Ireland and I’m wondering where I can buy models. I’ve never given kit building much thought as it’s never really worked for me in the past (that’s just my fault). I’m just looking for some information on who would sell midland engines and wagons or what British rolling stock and locomotives I could convert to represent their Irish counterparts. 
All replies welcome-

Jb1911 

• Like 4

Excellent stuff. What scale ? If it’s 2mm, @Angus can advise. 4mm, @Maynerand @2996 Victorwill know. @David Holmandoes 7mm, which would be much easier to scratch build in, and at least four MGW loco kits are available in 7mm, although some require a little work to backdate. Card kits are available for Midland coaches in 7mm from Alphagraphix - easily scaled down to 4mm if you go that route. I dare say that some careful work with some RTR models might produce passable results. But for real pleasure giving modelling I’d go down the scratch/kit route. Having rapidly learned the skillsets myself in recent years, it’s not as hard as it’s often made to look.

I don’t model MGW but just finished a 7mm MGW loco and coaches  this week for a good friend. It’s a fascinating railway with some real distinctive features.

BFD9C7F8-9956-4BC2-88B4-27F5F6A30AF7.jpeg

Edited by Galteemore
  • Like 7

2 hours ago, Jb1911 said:

Hi all.