Rate this topic

Hello all,

I am very new to modeling and that so I require some help. i want to build a layout of one of 3 former CBSCR stations being Ballinhassig, crossbarry(kinsale junction) or upton. i have very basic track, borderline no rolling stock and a Silverfox C class on the way. my questions really are what radius track the curves would be for ballinhassig, how to go about making suitible buildings and terrain. please do advise on rolling stock and locos too

• Like 2

Welcome! Lots of good advice here - just browse the threads here. Sounds a great project. Good place to start are books - have you got any on the CBSC? Some books will have station building drawings - these can help you make a start on scratchbuilding. John Ahern’s modelling books still help here although rather old now.

BTW, the Historical Model Railway Society have a most helpful Irish expert in Alan O’Rourke;https://hmrs.org.uk/stewards/irish-bg/ 
 He helped me with my build of an F6, a class very common in your chosen area...

• Like 2

Hello, as Galteemore suggested, books are a perfect way to help inform and visualise the idea you have in your mind. "Cork, Bandon and South Coast Railway" by Ernie Shepherd would be a perfect resource for you with some station track plans in it if my memory serves me right, along with information on rolling stock and plenty of photos. 

You are on the right track with the 'C' class. A filthy silver or green C class is perfect for the final years of the CBSCR. However there are not many other ready to run models of locomotives from the line available. 00-works are bringing out a 0-6-0 saddle tank at the end of this year that is based on a prototype from the CBSCR but it is rather expensive. Otherwise locomotives such as the Bandon tanks are only available as metal kits (studio scale models). I think 3D printed bodies of 0-6-0t No. 90 have been knocking about irish modelling facebook groups as well if that interests you.