Philip's Workbench

Rate this topic

murphaph

A first for me but seemingly a well worn path...preparing Lima mk2b coaches for respraying.

I'm removing the raised and obviously not prototypical paint moulding from these and filing out the windows to receive south eastern finecast flush glazing. 

They were stripped in brake fluid which seems to do no harm to the plastic on this type of model.

I am trying rattle cans first and depending on the results I may or may not try an example with my as yet unused air brush!

IMG_20210513_120052282.jpg

IMG_20210508_170013257.jpg

• Like 6

Thx a lot chaps. The second one came out just as well. I can see that my 1mm masking tape was about half a mil short at the ends. I didn't notice it when masking up. 

The next challenge (after they are fully cured) will be applying decals which I've never done before.

IMG_20210517_201644580.jpg

• Like 5
  • WOW! 3

FL: I would like to get the roof vents right. Have you any suggestion for a source of scale vents though, or something else I might be able to make work? These two will be "simple resprays" to test the waters so I may just spray the roofs on these and then "up my game" on later ones. I can always throw them back in the brake fluid some day and redo them to a higher standard.

popeye, I used a RAL 2011 rattle can from Belton. I did replace the nozzles on all the rattle cans with low pressure types to reduce the amount of paint coming out. I don't know if this helped but it seemed prudent as these caps cost very little.

Does anyone have a RAL or other code for the red of the gangway doors?

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Informative 1

Thanks again guys. Very encouraging words also. I'm on the right track and it reassures me that spending more time on the prep won't be wasted by a catastrophic paint job. I was expecting all manner of bleed but only had it in one or two spots at the coach ends where a touch up will be under the weathering later anyway.