I am making my first ever layout i am trying to make harcourt street line im doing harcourt, viaduct at mill town nine arches, dundrum station and foxrock station.

Rate this topic

james1994

my question is how do i measure the height of things to scale. so if i want to make harcourt street station for example how do i measure in scale. like how high should a building be compared to the road and so on. also im finding it hard to know how much space i would need in terms of width. 

• Like 3

i am very new to this hobby i am finding it very hard to make a layout i think im overthinking everything. i think for harcourt street station the station is above street level which is all good but how high should that be right would like 3 feet height be enough or would i need to be bit higher. way im measuring is using a 00 1.76 dublin bus model so to get the scale right. now from there the layout would go to milltown viaduct then from that the layout goes to dundrum after that foxrock. should i get the bare bones of it down first like wiring and track then add other things later 

• Like 3

every foot in real life translates into 4mm in oo scale,

dont be afraid to extrapolate your ideas down to fit into your available space, the art of compromise can take time to master and not everything has to be exactly as it is in real life.

• Like 4

49 minutes ago, james1994 said:

my question is how do i measure the height of things to scale. so if i want to make harcourt street station for example how do i measure in scale. like how high should a building be compared to the road and so on. also im finding it hard to know how much space i would need in terms of width. 

Hi James and welcome.

Harcourt Street station building is still there, so you can pop along and measure it?

The line was elevated indeed. But how high?

There is a photo of a loco which went through the end wall and finished almost in the street. It was a little loco, so maybe 20 feet long?