Kingsbridge - old new layout

Rate this topic

Noel

Our new layout as really an old project that stalled.

I'm new here but have been a model train fan for nearly 50 years! :)

Background

My first memory of model trains was my Dad running Hornby-Dublo 00 GWR Castle class under my cot as a toddler. I've been collecting model trains and rolling stock for over 45 years. Everything from Hornby-Dublo (two rail), Triang-Hornby, Hornby, Bachmann and just recently some Murphy Models. When an 8yo I build my first very simple layout in my dad's attic, when 12 we moved house and I built my first 'scenic' layout in the attic of our then new home. The layout was effectively built into the attic structure, the track was all glued with ballast and pinned. When my Dad died a few years later and we moved house again the layout had to be left behind with only rolling stock and buildings salvageable. I vowed then that if I every built a layout again that it would not be 'nailed down' but semi-portable or at least transportable without too much damage. I dreamed up and designed many layout plans in those years (doodling with a ruler, pencil and compass), forgot about them and then eventually decided to built a layout once again when our son was born 20 years ago. I had still kept collecting rolling stock in the intervening years in the hope one day I might build a layout.

The idea

• 00 layout - Hybrid Irish and English countryside
  • Bolt together baseboards on foldable leg system.
  • Four continuous loops with some sections hidden
  • A large terminus station - a suedo mock up of Heuston/Kingsbridge with dual steam era/diesel infrastructure and some poetic license
  • A main line junction connected to a branch line
  • Operate as four loops or one long linear section effectively allowing steam loco to leave terminus and return facing in opposite direction
  • Two turntables

Steam Engine Sheds at Terminus yards

DSC_6533.jpg

The build plan